[ View Full Version Of This Page ]

Need help with a shipping company

All Forums » Off Topic » Need help with a shipping company

Cole
3/24/2008 5:18:50 PM
How safe would it be to purchase a bike overseas? ( Italy )
 
The gentlemen says that he would ship the bike via www.worldwide-ups.com
 
Just wanted someone to check out the website to see if it was legit.
 
If so, how would the bike be delivered to my home?
 
 
Anyhow, could somebody check it out, and tell me what they think?
 
Thanks,
 
Cole
OKIEZAC
3/24/2008 5:29:58 PM
Customs is going to cost you sooooo much its not worth it.... not to mention its about as safe as drinking bleach..
 
what kind of bike.. is it something you cant get here? 
Cole
3/24/2008 5:53:27 PM
CBR 1000 RR.

To be honest. I already verbally made the deal. I am scheduled to send payment tomorrow. I have already been given a tracking number. When I put in the number it does show that the bike left the port two days ago. It is scheduled to take 7 days to arrive. He could not register the bike in Italy. It was originally from here. So he is stuck with it. He paid for shipping.

I am thinking that if he gave me a tracking number that is showing the bike in transit, then what could go wrong?

Just wondering what everyone though about the shipping company. The package is registered as a CBR 1000. Does that mean that he could have sent anything in the crate. Or, would the shipping company ensure that the container really had a motrcycle inside?
 
Just some questions I had.
rvizzle
3/24/2008 5:58:13 PM
Sounds like a scam.  I dont trust sending or receiving anything from overseas.
Aken
3/24/2008 6:06:39 PM
The domain name is registered to someone in Emeryville, California.  The business is from Italy.  The domain name registrar used to acquire the domain is from Australia.

There are NO Google results for the company outside of their actual website and shitty pay-per-click ad websites (crappy and blacklisted way of getting better search results).

Physical address is actually a hotel.

Multiple shipping "companies" found when searching for the PO box, many in different countries, and many with the exact same layout as WorldWide UPS.

Stay the hell away, lol.
Nauree
3/24/2008 6:06:56 PM
How does he want the money sent to him?
Cole
3/24/2008 6:09:17 PM
Thanks for the help.
OKIEZAC
3/24/2008 6:10:26 PM
sounds like wicked scam.. he could have sent you a box of garbage and said it was a 1000RR...
 
also.. he paid your shipping but i bet you he didnt pay your customs fees for importing something that expensive and big.
 
 
what year is the 1000rr..
 
also the tracking number should give you the weight of the item.. make sure it adds up to what the bikes gvw is and add a rough crate weight.
 
if it doesnt.. just wait and see if its in there when it arrives... dont pay him anything yet.
 
 
not to mention anyone paying to ship a bike overseas is going to check and see if they can register the bike where they are taking it.
 
sounds like huge scam .. just my opinion.
 
 
 
 
rsp919
3/24/2008 6:20:30 PM
You are definatley getting scamed!!! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT send the money. Let me guess, you found a great deal on ebay or a classified and the guy told you he was overseas. 2 things to consider, why wouldn't he just sell it over there, and why would he already pay for shipping and send it without being paid. This scam is all over ebay and Craigslist. Just remember, if it is too good to be true, it is!
Cole
3/24/2008 6:21:31 PM
The method of payment was to be western union.
fuze
3/24/2008 6:23:57 PM
don't send your money.
rsp919
3/24/2008 6:26:00 PM
Trust me this is a scam. I know a guy that got ripped for $5,000 on a car using the same scam. If you ever come across a listing on ebay and it says "you must be preapproved by the seller before bidding" and "you must email me direct, not through ebay" RUN!!!
They hack peoples accounts to get their pos feedback.
 
Please Do NOT send any money!!!
fuze
3/24/2008 6:26:46 PM
1000bux says that tracking number is fake, or the box has something other then a cbr in it.
rsp919
3/24/2008 6:27:49 PM
Tell me if I'm right. It's a 2007 CBR1000rr for about $3000.
Nauree
3/24/2008 6:30:15 PM
quote:

ORIGINAL: Cole

The method of payment was to be western union.


RUN DUDE. BAIL OUT THAT. SCAM SCAM SCAM.

Post the URL to the tracking information up here.
Cole
3/24/2008 6:39:17 PM
What is the URL?
Nauree
3/24/2008 6:43:12 PM
whats the tracking number the guy gave you?
OKIEZAC
3/24/2008 6:48:16 PM
quote:

ORIGINAL: Cole

The method of payment was to be western union.

 
rvizzle
3/24/2008 7:22:04 PM
quote:

ORIGINAL: Cole

The method of payment was to be western union.


You are def. being scammed. I hope you haven't sent him any information whether it be your email account or anything.  Some money companies like that, all they need is your first and last name and they can get the money from your account. 
D2DGraphix_600RR
3/24/2008 10:45:00 PM
I bet it will be a CBR, a 1:64 replica.

Dont dos it
bboi
3/24/2008 11:00:37 PM
Wow dude hows that Hook feel? Hope you didnt give out money like that.
Related Threads

[ View Full Version Of This Page ]

Return to the CBR Forum home page - Archive Home