CBR Forum   Classifieds   News   Photo Gallery   Search   Member List   Timeslips   Contact   Sponsors   Register   Login  

Getting spam using the CBRF name

  Printable Version
CBR >> Other >> CBR Forum Help & Suggestion Center >> Getting spam using the CBRF name Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Getting spam using the CBRF name - 10/16/2006 9:53:53 AM   
143MYCBR


Posts: 59
Joined: 5/22/2006
Status: offline
Hope this is right place to inform about this.
I'm getting emails from spammers using the CRB forum in the name. Our email addresses are not being let out for this are they? It's addressed..


From: ifeoma4u from CRB forum <ifeoma4u12006@yahoo.com>
Subject: From:Mr. Naemenu Ifeoma
Date: October 15, 2006 2:23:39 PM CDT

From:Mr. Naemenu Ifeoma
Tel +22505120630
Abidjan, Ivory Coast

Naemenu Ifeoma

The email goes into detail about this person coming into money and wants to give a 15% cut...just email back. Yeah right.
Anyway, just wanted to bring attention to this, and I hope our email addresses are not giving out.

Maybe it was a fluke email and more won't folllow.

Post #: 1
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 10/16/2006 11:48:59 AM   
doncollins


Posts: 6227
Joined: 7/21/2005
From: OH, KY & WV
Status: offline
doncollins's photo gallery
Emails are not shared with anyone... I'd assume it's an individual that search a few message boards and forums looking for real email address to try and sucker into calling a number.

DON'T EVER CALL PHONE NUMBERS LIKE THIS!!!! You can and will be billed $$$$ by your phone company.

I did a google search on the number you have the "Tel +22505120630" and found it at a couple different forums.

This only helps to prove my assumption. As far as I can tell, since the number starts with a "2" that's an international number in zone 2 and the code "250" if for Rwanda. That would be in Africa or one of the Atlantic islands

Here the links.

Google

Neoseeker (whatever the hell neoseeker is... I have no clue"

And some loser dating site

Please keep us posted if you see any more of this.


_____________________________


(in reply to 143MYCBR)
Post #: 2
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 10/16/2006 11:59:51 AM   
143MYCBR


Posts: 59
Joined: 5/22/2006
Status: offline
Cool. Thank you for looking into this. I'll keep you posted if I get anymore.

(in reply to 143MYCBR)
Post #: 3
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 10/16/2006 5:54:43 PM   
chainstretcher



Posts: 3956
Joined: 11/5/2004
Status: online
chainstretcher's photo gallery
quote:

From: ifeoma4u from CRB forum <ifeoma4u12006@yahoo.com>
Subject: From:Mr. Naemenu Ifeoma
Date: October 15, 2006 2:23:39 PM CDT


Did you cut/paste this? I'm asking because it reads "CRB forum". Anything we send you should have our name spelled correctly.

And just an FYI -- you can change your personal settings so that no one can e-mail you. We don't share anyone's information, however, if you allow it members can e-mail you but not directly. They e-mail you through our server. So if you don't respond they still won't have your address. Another thing to look for when an e-mail is sent through CBRForum is the member name who's doing the e-mailing will be displayed in "from" area so you'll be able to tell who sent it without opening it.

I'm not saying no one could hack our site and spam you, but as of yet we've remained safe. And I can positively state that what you got wasn't from here.

Sorry if this was boring

_____________________________

It's better to burn out ...
Than high side!

(in reply to 143MYCBR)
Post #: 4
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 10/17/2006 12:03:28 PM   
143MYCBR


Posts: 59
Joined: 5/22/2006
Status: offline
I typed what it said...thats my typo.
I figured it was spam with out opening it...I just wanted to bring to you guys attention.
I have not had anything else yet.

(in reply to chainstretcher)
Post #: 5
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 1/30/2007 10:04:53 AM   
143MYCBR


Posts: 59
Joined: 5/22/2006
Status: offline
I got another one....

mkone_01_1@yahoo.com
Please reply to my private email address

FROM: MARRY KONE.
COUNTRY: ABIDJAN, IVORYCOAST
(mkone_01_1@yahoo.com)

DEAR,

I GOT YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION THROUGH THIS SITE. AND I DECIDED TO CONTACT YOU,HOPING THAT BY ALMIGHTY GOD GRACE YOU WILL SUCCESSFULLY ASSIST ME OUT FROM MY SITUATION AFTER MY SEVEN GOOD DAYS PRAYERS AND FASTING OVER SEEKING FOR AN OVERSEES GUARDANCE .

I AM MARRY KONE (22 YEARS OLD) THE ONLY DAUGHTER OF LATE CHIEF JOSEPH KONE WHO WAS A FAMOUS AND WEALTHY COCOA MERCHANT BASED IN ABIDJAN,THE ECONOMIC CAPITAL OF IVORYCOAST. I AM SEEKING FOR YOUR URGENT ATTENTION TO HELP ME TRANSFER THE SUM OF (US$10,500,000.00 )TEN MILLION FIVE HUNDRED THOUSAND UNITED STATE OF AMERICAN DOLLARS INTO YOUR NOMINATED BANK ACCOUNT OVERSEAS FOR AN INVESTMENTS PURPOSES,SUCH AS REAL ESTATES MANAGEMENTS AND STOCK MARKERTS. THE FUND WAS DEPOSITED IN FIXED SUSPENCE ACCOUNT

PLEASE , I AM WILLING TO OFFER YOU 20% OUT OF THIS MY TOTAL FUND AS YOUR COMMISSION FOR YOUR URGENT ASSISTANCE TO ME.PLEASE KINDLY WRITE IMMEDIATELY FOR MORE IMPORTANT DETAILS CONCERNING THIS MY MUTUAL TRANSACTION.

YOURS FAITHFULLY,
MARRY KONE.

NOTE: I HAVE ALL THE NECESSARY DOCUMENTS IN RELATION TO THIS MY FUND DEPOSITED BY MY LATE FATHER IN THE BANK. AND ALSO KINDLY REPLY ME ON THIS MY PRIVATE EMAIL (mkone_01_1@yahoo.com) FOR CONFIDENTIAL AND SECURITY REASONS OK THANKS.


Just bringing this to the mods light.

(in reply to 143MYCBR)
Post #: 6
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 1/30/2007 12:02:11 PM   
D2DGraphix_600RR



Posts: 4673
Joined: 7/13/2006
From: Menominee, MI to Panama City Bch,FL / Orlando,FL
Status: offline
D2DGraphix_600RR's photo gallery
If it were only true!

Thats wierd though. I used to get emails like the from ebay and such. But a main reason YOU may be getting them is because if they are doing what Don says, and they do a member search or something of that sort, finds come up in alphabetical order, and with your name beginning with a "1", your name is on the top. That just a hunch though

_____________________________


ZG Windscreen, Hotbodies Fronts, LED Pegs, Custom Seats & Cowl, Yosh RS-5


WTF is up with the grammar?!?

http://www.myspace.com/d2meclipsegt_600rr

(in reply to 143MYCBR)
Post #: 7
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 1/30/2007 3:21:03 PM   
143MYCBR


Posts: 59
Joined: 5/22/2006
Status: offline
Yep, your probably right. I guess i'm lucky? hahaa

(in reply to D2DGraphix_600RR)
Post #: 8
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 1/30/2007 8:25:29 PM   
D2DGraphix_600RR



Posts: 4673
Joined: 7/13/2006
From: Menominee, MI to Panama City Bch,FL / Orlando,FL
Status: offline
D2DGraphix_600RR's photo gallery
Now there is another http://www.cbrforum.com/m_223999/mpage_1/key_/tm.htm#224003

_____________________________


ZG Windscreen, Hotbodies Fronts, LED Pegs, Custom Seats & Cowl, Yosh RS-5


WTF is up with the grammar?!?

http://www.myspace.com/d2meclipsegt_600rr

(in reply to 143MYCBR)
Post #: 9
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 1/30/2007 10:14:41 PM   
D2DGraphix_600RR



Posts: 4673
Joined: 7/13/2006
From: Menominee, MI to Panama City Bch,FL / Orlando,FL
Status: offline
D2DGraphix_600RR's photo gallery
ATTN: Don Chain or whoever else has banning abilities.

http://www.cbrforum.com/showprofile.asp?memid=13681

Here is the member sending out the emails!




_____________________________


ZG Windscreen, Hotbodies Fronts, LED Pegs, Custom Seats & Cowl, Yosh RS-5


WTF is up with the grammar?!?

http://www.myspace.com/d2meclipsegt_600rr

(in reply to D2DGraphix_600RR)
Post #: 10
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 1/31/2007 11:49:49 AM   
ChrisMcD



Posts: 1470
Joined: 3/27/2005
Status: offline
ChrisMcD's photo gallery
Looks like a viable ban to me....I will take care of it.

_____________________________

2000 CBR 600F4 (*See Picture)
Musichyp/
~Chris
Portland, Me

(in reply to D2DGraphix_600RR)
Post #: 11
RE: Getting spam using the CBRF name - 1/31/2007 12:00:41 PM   
rrasco


Posts: 4875
Joined: 3/6/2006
From: San Antonio, TX
Status: offline
rrasco's photo gallery
probably not even human, just a bot.

_____________________________


http://www.snackbar-games.com - Your Games, Your Site, Your Community
-You dumb bastard, its not a schooner, its a sailboat!
CBR Forum Buddy: txn_driver

(in reply to ChrisMcD)
Post #: 12
Login OR Register now to post a reply to this forum topic.
Page:   [1]

 
CBR Forum >> Other >> CBR Forum Help & Suggestion Center
Jump to:

Featured Sponsors
Advertising Info

Top 10 Posters
voodoochyl6241
doncollins6227
tahoe sc5798
pitsvtec5318
rrasco4875
d2dgraphix_64673
blue fox4286
vpsophmore4188
havoc4009
chainstretch3956

New Vendors
Sport Bike GPS
AMSOIL - Performance Oil Technology
AMSOIL - Performance Oil Technology
K&N Engineering, Inc.

CBR Forum .com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Honda Motor Company.