CBR Forum   Classifieds   News   Photo Gallery   Search   Member List   Timeslips   Contact   Sponsors   Register   Login  

Need help with a shipping company

  Printable Version
CBR >> General >> Off Topic >> Need help with a shipping company Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 5:18:50 PM   
Cole

 

Posts: 26
Joined: 3/11/2008
Status: offline
How safe would it be to purchase a bike overseas? ( Italy )

The gentlemen says that he would ship the bike via www.worldwide-ups.com

Just wanted someone to check out the website to see if it was legit.

If so, how would the bike be delivered to my home?


Anyhow, could somebody check it out, and tell me what they think?

Thanks,

Cole
Post #: 1
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 5:29:58 PM   
OKIEZAC



Posts: 1996
Joined: 6/16/2007
From: Edmond, OK-Mammoth Lakes, CA- currently Ithaca, NY
Status: offline
OKIEZAC's photo gallery
Customs is going to cost you sooooo much its not worth it.... not to mention its about as safe as drinking bleach..

what kind of bike.. is it something you cant get here? 

_____________________________



No Worries...

(in reply to Cole)
Post #: 2
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 5:53:27 PM   
Cole

 

Posts: 26
Joined: 3/11/2008
Status: offline
CBR 1000 RR.

To be honest. I already verbally made the deal. I am scheduled to send payment tomorrow. I have already been given a tracking number. When I put in the number it does show that the bike left the port two days ago. It is scheduled to take 7 days to arrive. He could not register the bike in Italy. It was originally from here. So he is stuck with it. He paid for shipping.

I am thinking that if he gave me a tracking number that is showing the bike in transit, then what could go wrong?

Just wondering what everyone though about the shipping company. The package is registered as a CBR 1000. Does that mean that he could have sent anything in the crate. Or, would the shipping company ensure that the container really had a motrcycle inside?

Just some questions I had.

< Message edited by Cole -- 3/24/2008 6:01:40 PM >

(in reply to OKIEZAC)
Post #: 3
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 5:58:13 PM   
rvizzle


Posts: 431
Joined: 8/18/2007
From: Seymour Johnson AFB
Status: offline
Sounds like a scam.  I dont trust sending or receiving anything from overseas.

(in reply to Cole)
Post #: 4
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:06:39 PM   
Aken


Posts: 930
Joined: 10/12/2007
Status: offline
Aken's photo gallery
The domain name is registered to someone in Emeryville, California.  The business is from Italy.  The domain name registrar used to acquire the domain is from Australia.

There are NO Google results for the company outside of their actual website and shitty pay-per-click ad websites (crappy and blacklisted way of getting better search results).

Physical address is actually a hotel.

Multiple shipping "companies" found when searching for the PO box, many in different countries, and many with the exact same layout as WorldWide UPS.

Stay the hell away, lol.

(in reply to Cole)
Post #: 5
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:06:56 PM   
Nauree


Posts: 2875
Joined: 6/16/2007
From: Ponchatoula, LA
Status: online
How does he want the money sent to him?

(in reply to rvizzle)
Post #: 6
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:09:17 PM   
Cole

 

Posts: 26
Joined: 3/11/2008
Status: offline
Thanks for the help.

(in reply to Aken)
Post #: 7
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:10:26 PM   
OKIEZAC



Posts: 1996
Joined: 6/16/2007
From: Edmond, OK-Mammoth Lakes, CA- currently Ithaca, NY
Status: offline
OKIEZAC's photo gallery
sounds like wicked scam.. he could have sent you a box of garbage and said it was a 1000RR...

also.. he paid your shipping but i bet you he didnt pay your customs fees for importing something that expensive and big.


what year is the 1000rr..

also the tracking number should give you the weight of the item.. make sure it adds up to what the bikes gvw is and add a rough crate weight.

if it doesnt.. just wait and see if its in there when it arrives... dont pay him anything yet.


not to mention anyone paying to ship a bike overseas is going to check and see if they can register the bike where they are taking it.

sounds like huge scam .. just my opinion.





_____________________________



No Worries...

(in reply to rvizzle)
Post #: 8
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:20:30 PM   
rsp919


Posts: 659
Joined: 8/6/2006
Status: online
rsp919's photo gallery
You are definatley getting scamed!!! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT send the money. Let me guess, you found a great deal on ebay or a classified and the guy told you he was overseas. 2 things to consider, why wouldn't he just sell it over there, and why would he already pay for shipping and send it without being paid. This scam is all over ebay and Craigslist. Just remember, if it is too good to be true, it is!

_____________________________

94 f2 frame
nws one-off singlesided swingarm
06 gsxr 750 front forks
98 cbr900rr motor
one-off red carbon bodywork
one-off r6 style upper to mount to oem lowers
996 tail on one-off aluminium subframe and led tail

(in reply to OKIEZAC)
Post #: 9
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:21:31 PM   
Cole

 

Posts: 26
Joined: 3/11/2008
Status: offline
The method of payment was to be western union.

(in reply to OKIEZAC)
Post #: 10
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:23:57 PM   
fuze


Posts: 1434
Joined: 4/29/2007
Status: online
fuze's photo gallery
don't send your money.

(in reply to Cole)
Post #: 11
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:26:00 PM   
rsp919


Posts: 659
Joined: 8/6/2006
Status: online
rsp919's photo gallery
Trust me this is a scam. I know a guy that got ripped for $5,000 on a car using the same scam. If you ever come across a listing on ebay and it says "you must be preapproved by the seller before bidding" and "you must email me direct, not through ebay" RUN!!!
They hack peoples accounts to get their pos feedback.

Please Do NOT send any money!!!

_____________________________

94 f2 frame
nws one-off singlesided swingarm
06 gsxr 750 front forks
98 cbr900rr motor
one-off red carbon bodywork
one-off r6 style upper to mount to oem lowers
996 tail on one-off aluminium subframe and led tail

(in reply to Cole)
Post #: 12
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:26:46 PM   
fuze


Posts: 1434
Joined: 4/29/2007
Status: online
fuze's photo gallery
1000bux says that tracking number is fake, or the box has something other then a cbr in it.

(in reply to fuze)
Post #: 13
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:27:49 PM   
rsp919


Posts: 659
Joined: 8/6/2006
Status: online
rsp919's photo gallery
Tell me if I'm right. It's a 2007 CBR1000rr for about $3000.

_____________________________

94 f2 frame
nws one-off singlesided swingarm
06 gsxr 750 front forks
98 cbr900rr motor
one-off red carbon bodywork
one-off r6 style upper to mount to oem lowers
996 tail on one-off aluminium subframe and led tail

(in reply to fuze)
Post #: 14
RE: Need help with a shipping company - 3/24/2008 6:30:15 PM   
Nauree


Posts: 2875
Joined: 6/16/2007
From: Ponchatoula, LA
Status: online
quote:

ORIGINAL: Cole

The method of payment was to be western union.


RUN DUDE. BAIL OUT THAT. SCAM SCAM SCAM.

Post the URL to the tracking information up here.

(in reply to Cole)
Post #: 15
Login OR Register now to post a reply to this forum topic.
Page:   [1] 2   next >   >>

 
CBR Forum >> General >> Off Topic
Jump to:

Featured Sponsors
Advertising Info

Top 10 Posters
voodoochyl7126
doncollins6248
tahoe sc5874
rrasco5591
pitsvtec5323
d2vw14_205061
tk954rr4725
vpsophmore4673
blue fox4570
chainstretch4513

New Vendors
AMSOIL - Performance Oil Technology
AMSOIL - Performance Oil Technology

CBR Forum .com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Honda Motor Company.